NBA Names Scholarship Winners

This weekend’s 18th annual Nevada Broadcasters Associations Hall of Fame Gala will feature the awarding of nine scholarships for future broadcasters.

They pay for up to 12 credits per semester for one year. Each scholarship also includes an internship in radio or TV broadcasting, according to a release.

The students selected: Alexandria Cannito, Marcus Lavergne, Christina Jones, Dena Banning, Alaina Leadbeter, Crystal Muguerza, Jessica Zimmerman, Karina Gaytan and Sylvia Alvarado.

Some of the scholarships are special, with funds provided by The Geary Company (Mike Geary Scholarship), Women in Communications (DeAnne Sheehan Scholarship), KLAS(TV) (Gary Waddell Scholarship) and  Linda and Tony Bonnici. Linda Bonnici is the VP for Sales at KLAS(TV) and Tony Bonnici is GM for the Lotus Communications radio stations in Las Vegas.  

Bob Fisher, CEO of the Nevada Broadcasters Association, said: “These students … are the future of broadcasting.  Their dedication and talent at such young ages will benefit our industry in the future. The scholarship is meant to help them get a foot in the door to a career in the broadcasting industry, and we’re happy to have them.”

To raise more money for the scholarships there’s a golf tournament in the spring along with live and silent auctions at the gala. Auction prizes are more than the usual free meal fare — guitars autographed by Carrie Underwood, Brad Paisley and Alan Jackson; tickets to top line Vegas shows and some other goodies.


Want to read more stories like this? Sign up for your free Radio World NewsBytes newsletter here.

Rating People: 0   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!