And the Award Goes To …

For the first time ever, a Canadian network, Global News, will take home the award for overall excellence, when the Radio Television Digital News Association announced the 2013 National Edward R. Murrow and RTDNA/UNITY award winners this week.

Every year, the RTDNA recognizes radio, television and online news organizations’ highest quality work from around the world. Leading the network categories, with seven wins, CBS picked up three in radio and four in television and for the seventh year running won overall excellence in network radio news.

Locally, a Harrisburg, Pa., station, WITF(FM), was top winner, with three awards. A total of 94 Murrows will be presented at the New York Marriott Marquis on Oct. 14.

As for the RTDNA/UNITY Awards, which are determined in conjunction with UNITY: Journalists for Diversity —an alliance of the Asian American Journalists Association, the National Association of Hispanic Journalists, the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association and he Native American Journalists Association — Michigan Radio and WFPL(FM) were winners in radio.

A complete list of winners with links to the winning entries, along with trophy and ticket information for the awards ceremony, can be found here and here.  


Rating People: 0   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!