Eric Nadel Wins Frick

Eric Nadel Texas Rangers Ford C. Frick Award
Eric Nadel is the recipient of the 2014 Ford C. Frick Award, as voted by the Baseball Hall of Fame’s Frick Award Committee.

The official presentation will be July 26, 2014, as part of Major League Baseball’s Hall of Fame Weekend 2014.

Nadel has been broadcasting Texas Ranger baseball games for 35 years, since 1979.

National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum President Jeff Idelson said, “Eric Nadel’s play-by-play has entertained Rangers fans across the Lone Star State and throughout the Southwest during warm Texas nights since 1979 … From Nolan Ryan’s memorable milestones to American League Championship clinching moments, Eric's crisp, energetic and enthusiastic delivery of Texas Rangers baseball has transcended multiple generations for 35 seasons.”

Nadel is a member of the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame along with the Texas Rangers Hall of Fame. After a few years covering the Rangers, Nadel learned Spanish to better converse with Spanish-speaking players. He has gone onto actually call games in Spanish in Latin American countries.

The Ford C. Frick Award is presented annually for excellence in broadcasting. Past winners include: Mel Allen, Red Barber, Ernie Harwell, Vin Scully, Bob Prince, Jack Buck, Joe Garagiola, Harry Kalas, Bob Uecker, .Jon Miller and others.

Rating People: 0   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!