Farber, Beasley Are Named ‘Giants’

George Beasley, Erica Farber and Ted Turner are among the latest class named to the “Giants of Broadcasting” roster sponsored by the Library of American Broadcasting. It’s the 10th year that such a list has been published.

The event takes place in New York in October, honoring individuals who have played a “pivotal role in creating and advancing the electronic arts.” Including this class, 149 giants have been named to date.

The recipients also include Norman Lear, Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, Don Cornelius, Andy Rooney and Sir Howard Stringer.

Read their bios.

The library is chaired by Virginia Hubbard Morris, president of Hubbard Radio; its president/CEO is Donald West, broadcast journalist and former assistant to the president of CBS Inc. The dean of libraries at the University of Maryland is Patricia Steele, the curator is Chuck Howell.

Rating People: 2   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!