Library Honors Giants

The Library of American Broadcasting’s ninth annual Giants of Broadcasting Awards will be held Oct. 14 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

On the list of newly deemed giants are familiar names such as NBC’s Brian Williams, ABC’s Christiane Amanpour and actor James Arness.

Four from “CBS Sunday Morning” will be honored: Charles Kuralt, Robert “Shad” Northshield, Charles Osgood and Rand Morrison.

Joining them are Brian Lamb, founder and CEO of C-SPAN; Fred Pierce, former president and COO of ABC; Frances Preston, former president and CEO of BMI; and John Dille, president of broadcaster and publisher Federated and a former chairman of the RAB and NAB.

Posthumous awards also will go to Dawson “Tack” Nail, a long-time industry correspondent (Broadcasting & Cable, Television Digest and Communications Daily) and Rick Buckley, chairman and president of Buckley Broadcasting.

The award “serves as a tribute to those individuals who have played pivotal roles in creating and advancing the electronic arts,” according to a release.

Previous “giants” include David Sarnoff, Philo Farnsworth, William S. Paley, Jack Benny, H.V. Kaltenborn, Edward R. Murrow, Walter Cronkite, Arthur Godfrey, Paul Harvey, Johnny Carson, Lucille Ball and Lowry Mays.

Want to read more stories like this? Sign up for your free Radio World NewsBytes newsletter here.

Rating People: 2   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!