Seven More Lawmakers Oppose Performance Fee

Six additional members of the House and a Senator have signed onto a resolution that opposes “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act is currently co-sponsored by 124 members of the House and 10 Senators.

Reps. Jim Bridenstine (Okla.), Christoper Gibson (N.Y.), Jim Jordan (Ohio), Mark Meadows (N.C.), Mick Mulvaney (S.C.), Tom Reed (N.Y.) added their names to the resolution. Sen. John Boozman (Ark.) also formally supported the resolution.

Reps. Michael Conaway (Texas) and Gene Green (Texas) introduced the Local Radio Freedom Act (H.R. 16) in the House on February 15 along with 71 other co-sponsors. An identical resolution (S. 6) was introduced in the Senate on March 6 by Sens. John Barrasso (Wyo.) and Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.).

Text from the act reads: “Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings.”

Want to read more stories like this? Sign up for your free Radio World NewsBytes newsletter here.

Rating People: 1   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!