Sony Radio Academy Awards Recognize UK Excellence

Organized by the Radio Academy, the Sony Radio Academy Awards celebrated the radio industry for the 31st year on May 13 during a ceremony hosted by Radio 2’s Chris Evans at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.

Winners included Richard Park, recipient of the Gold Award; Steve Lamacq, recipient of the Special Award. Radio 5 Live was named UK Station of the Year because of its Olympic broadcasts, and Classic FM was credited with UK Brand of the Year. KL.FM 96.7 was once again named Station of the Year in the under 300,000 range, while Metro Radio took the honor in the 1 million plus range. The intermediate range of the category went to Classic FM for 300,000 to 1 million.

This year the Radio Academy also premiered the Sony Golden Headphones. This listeners’ choice category for presenter was won jointly by BBC Radio One’s Dan Howell and Phil Lester.

To see the full list of 2013 winners, visit the Radio Academy’s awards website.

Rating People: 0   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!