Who’s Your Favorite Public Radio Engineer?

The Association of Public Radio Engineers is accepting nominations for the Seventh Annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award.

The honor is to be awarded to a single individual for “outstanding contributions” to the art and/or science of radio engineering that has made a “significant impact on, or improvement in” the state of the public radio industry.

Last year’s recipient was Mike Starling, vice president, Technology Research Center & NPR Labs. V-Soft Communications President/CEO Doug Vernier was honored in 2011.

Past honorees have included Roger Karwoski, assistant manager and director of engineering for KBIA(FM), Columbia, Mo.; Donald Creighton, vice president of technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media; Richard Cassidy, director of IT and New Media for WAMU(FM), Washington; Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR’s 30 original employees; Chuck Leavens, director of engineering and information technology management for WDUQ(FM), Pittsburgh; Marty Bloss, former director of technology at NPR; Don Danko, vice president for Engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio; John Kean of NPR Labs; Jim McEachern of NPR and Mike Pappas, chief engineer of KUVO(FM), Denver.

The nomination deadline is March 4. To suggest your favorite public radio engineer a nomination form can be downloaded at the APRE website. Direct questions about the award process to Gordon Carter.

The award will be presented at the NPR Labs/APRE Engineering Dinner, held during the 13th annual Public Radio Engineering Conference in Las Vegas, April 4–5.


Rating People: 0   Average Rating:     
Comment List:

Post your comment

Your Name:  Required
Your Mail:       Your email will not be published.
Your Site:    

max. 800 characters

Posts are reviewed before publication, typically the next business morning. Radio World encourages multiple viewpoints, though a post will be blocked if it contains abusive language, or is repetitive or spam. Thank you for commenting!