Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Clark is SBE Engineer of the Year

Society of Broadcast Engineers announces 2015 National Award winners

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.�The Society of Broadcast Engineers has named the recipients of its 2015 SBE National Awards, which recognize excellence and achievement by individual members, �as well as SBE chapters and Sustaining Member companies.�

Roswell D. �Roz� Clark, CPBE, CBNT, is the recipient of the Robert W. Flanders SBE Engineer of the Year award. He is recognized as a member who has excelled in his or her career while furthering the mission of the SBE. Clark is a member of SBE Chapter 39 Tampa Bay, Fla., where he serves as treasurer. He is a past chairman of Chapter 39 and a resident of Clearwater.

Clark has worked in broadcast engineering for more than 30 years and is currently the director of technical operations for Cox Media Group in multiple markets. Clark was a leader in the implementation of HD Radio and adoption of radio’s part in social media and other platforms.

SBE Chapter 39 Tampa Bay is also lauded with the James C. Wulliman SBE Educator of the Year award, which acknowledges outstanding service and excellence in sharing knowledge through teaching other broadcast engineers. Roz Clark facilitates this annual chapter symposium, which provides an educational experience for the regional engineers who cannot attend the NAB Show or similar events. Other chapter members who have been a part of the planning are Dylan Scott, Larry Stephen, Bill Brown, Paul Kempter, Ralph Beaver, Mike Galik, Jake Tremper, Sheila Cowley, Mike Cernack, John Collinson and the late Steven Hess. The chapter began hosting an annual daylong technical training seminar in 2009 and continues to do so. The 2015 Symposium is scheduled for November 12.

Nine chapters also selected their own Chapter Engineer of the Year recipients to highlight member achievements. Each winner will be presented with a certificate and will be recognized on the SBE website and in The Signal. The chapter winners were nominated for the national Engineer of the Year Award.�

Several SBE National Awards recognize chapters based on statistics kept at the national office, as submitted by all chapters, and two awards are presented for each category, based on chapter enrollment. Class A represents chapters whose membership is less than the national median, while Class B includes chapters with a membership greater than the national median.�

Greatest Growth in New Members

A: Chapter 111, Huntsville, Ala.

B: Chapter 45, Charlotte, N.C.

�Most Certified Chapter

A: Chapter 118, Montgomery, Ala.

B: (tie) Chapter 24, Madison, Wis. & Ch. 131, Inland Empire, Calif.

Highest Average Member Attendance

A: Chapter 85, Central Western Oklahoma

B: Chapter 34, Albuquerque, N.M.

Other Chapter Award winners are in the following categories:

Best Chapter Website and Best Social Media Site

Chapter 80 of Fox Valley, Wis.

Best Chapter Newsletter

Chapter 24, Madison, Wis.,& Chapter 70, Cleveland, Ohio

Best Regional Convention or Conference

Chapter 24, Madison, Wis., and the 2014 Broadcasters Clinic

The winner of the Best Technical Article, Book or Program for his article in the October and December issues of The Signal and an issue of the Chapter 24 newsletter is Tom C. Smith of Sun Prairie, Wis., for Look at TV Repack Scenario, Chapter 24.

The 2015 SBE Technology Award was awarded to Blackmagic Design for its 12G-SDI, which has a high data throughput and allows for SD, HD and Ultra HD video to be sent via a single BNC cable.

All the awards will be presented during the SBE National Awards Dinner Oct. 14, at the SBE National Meeting in Madison, Wis. The National Meeting is being held in conjunction with the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Broadcasters Clinic.

Nominations for the 2016 awards will open in February.

Sorry. No data so far.