Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NABEF Honors Arizona Broadcasters Association

Reveals Service to America Award 2016 winners

WASHINGTON�The National Association of Broadcasters Educational Foundation has announced the winners of the 2016 Celebration of Service to America Award winners.

Among the awards handed out is the President�s Special Award, which recognizes what the NABEF describes as �historic and extraordinary achievement by broadcasters.� This year�s winner was the Arizona Broadcasters Association, which in partnership with the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University, created the �Hooked: Tracking Heroin�s Hold on Arizona� special, which was broadcasted on both radio and television.

The other award recipients announced include the CBS Radio-owned WXYT(FM) Southfield, Mich., which was presented with the Service to Children Award; WBIQ(TV) Birmingham, Ala., was the winner on the TV side.�For the Service to Community Award, NABEF honored Cox Radio Group in Miami; and KOLO(TV) in Reno, Nev., won for TV. There was also a Service to America Television Award, which was given to KWTX(TV) in Waco, Texas.

All winners will be recognized at the Celebration of Service to America dinner, which will be held June 21 at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington.