Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Engineer of the Year: Clay Freinwald To ReceiveRadio World “Excellence in Engineering” Award

Clay Freinwald will receive the 2007 Radio World Excellence in Engineering Award from the editors of Radio World, the newspaper for radio managers and engineers.

(click thumbnail)

For Immediate Release

Aug. 22, 2007

Paul J. McLane
703-998-7600, ext. 117
e-mail: [email protected]

FALLS CHURCH, VA. Clay Freinwald will receive the 2007 Radio World Excellence in Engineering Award from the editors of Radio World, the newspaper for radio managers and engineers. The announcement was made by U.S. Editor in Chief Paul J. McLane.

Recipients of the award represent the highest ideals of the U.S. radio broadcast engineering profession and reflect those ideals through contributions to the industry.

Freinwald, CPBE, is recognized for his work to improve the state of emergency alerting systems in the United States and broadcasters’ involvement in EAS, as well as for his accomplishments as a corporate technical executive. Currently an RF systems engineer for Entercom in Seattle, he has held management and staff engineering positions with that company and with Tribune Communications, KMO(AM) Radio and KCPQ(TV). He is vice president of the national Society of Broadcast Engineers and chairman of its EAS Committee; next year he will note his 40th year as an SBE member. He is also a Life Member of the American Radio Relay League.

“Clay is an exceptional representative of the engineering community and of radio at large,” McLane said. “If you had to identify one radio engineer whose name is most associated with EAS and efforts to improve it, you’d come up with Clay Freinwald’s. He has worked as hard as anyone to help broadcasters, and especially fellow engineers, understand what’s going on in the changing EAS arena and how our systems can be used to make Americans safer.”

Among his accomplishments, Freinwald also has designed and installed large-scale HD Radio projects in various locations in the country; designed and managed a $1.5 million multiple-user communications transmission facility on Cougar Mountain and a multimillion-dollar communications transmission facility on West Tiger Mountain, both in Seattle; and formed the Washington State Emergency Communications Committee (SECC) in 1996 to write and implement the Washington State EAS Plan. He continues to chair that group.

Last year’s award recipient was John Lyons of The Durst Organization; past recipients include Michael Starling of National Public Radio and Richard “Andy” Andresen of Cumulus Media.

Freinwald will be featured in an upcoming issue of Radio World newspaper and will receive a plaque commemorating the award.

About Radio World:
Radio World is the newspaper for radio managers and engineers, serving broadcasters in the United States with news and analysis of topics ranging from engineering and regulation to satellite radio and the digital transition. Radio World is owned by NewBay Media, part of the Wicks Group of Companies. Sister publications include TV Technology, Pro Audio Review, Audio Media, Broadcast & Production, Pro Sound News, Guitar Player, Bass Player, Systems Contractor News, Keyboard, EQ, Residential Systems, Rental & Staging Systems, Videography, DV, Government Video, Television Broadcast, Digital Cinematography, Technology & Learning, DV Expo and Government Video Technology Expo.