Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


26th Annual Crystal Radio Awards Call for Entries

Nominations also open for 2013 NAB Technology Innovation Awards

To ring in the new year, beginning Jan. 1, 2013, the National Association of Broadcasters will accept entries for the 2013 NAB Crystal Radio Awards, which honor outstanding community service.

Established in 1987, the awards recognize radio stations for commitment to serving their communities. To enter, a station must submit an online entry describing their efforts during 2012.

Fifty Crystal Radio Awards finalists and 10 winners are chosen by judges who have broadcast and community service backgrounds. Entry information is available on NAB website or by calling NAB’s Melek Demir at (202)775-3511.

Submissions must be received by January 31, and finalists will be revealed Feb. 25. Winners will be announced and finalists honored at the NAB Radio Luncheon, sponsored by ASCAP and held April 9 during the 2013 NAB Show in Las Vegas.

The NAB is also currently accepting nominations for the 2013 NAB Technology Innovation Awards. First presented at the 2009 show, the awards are presented to organizations presenting technology exhibits and demonstrations. Nominated exhibits should present advanced research and development projects in communications technologies that have not yet been commercialized.

Candidates must be organizations currently exhibiting. Nominated projects may not have been offered for sale prior to or at the NAB Show. The merit of the technology exhibit is the sole factor to be taken into account. The entry deadline is Feb. 22, 2013. Submission instructions are included in the application form.

The awards will be presented on April 10, 2013, during the NAB Technology Luncheon at the NAB Show.

Past winners include: Fraunhofer, the RadioTAG Application Working Group, the Communications Research Centre, NPR Labs, the Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute and the NHK Science and Technical Research Laboratories.