Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Advisory Group to FCC on Diversity is Re-chartered

Group to review access to capital for minority, women station owners

The Federal Communications Commission re-chartered and appointed members to its advisory committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age through Dec. 16, 2010.

The committee makes recommendations to the commission to enhance the ability of minorities and women to participate in communications. Its members will look at financial issues such as access to capital, transactional transparency, career advancement, and the impact of new and emerging technologies on diversity issues.

Acting Chairman Michael Copps said the committee would provide an important and independent voice for strengthening the FCC’s commitment to diversity. “The sad truth is that the diversity of this great nation is not reflected in the ownership of its media and telecommunications facilities. The time has come to chart a new course, to roll up our sleeves and get to work to craft sustainable solutions.”

Copps recently told reporters he wanted the committee to get to work as quickly as possible.

The Diversity Committee plans to hold a meeting at the commission on May 7. Its members are:

  • Henry Rivera, Emma Bowen Foundation for Minority Interests in Media (Chairperson)
  • Rau?l Alarc?on Jr., Spanish Broadcasting System
  • Jenny Alonzo, Mio.TV
  • James M. Assey, Jr., National Cable and Telecommunications Association
  • Geoffrey C. Blackwell, Chickasaw Nation Industries Inc.
  • Matthew Blank, Showtime Networks
  • Maria E. Brennan, American Women in Radio and Television
  • Kathy Brown, Verizon
  • Toni Cook Bush, Virgin Mobile
  • Alan B. Davidson, Google Inc.
  • Ralph de la Vega, AT&T Mobility and Consumer Markets
  • Steve Hillard, Council Tree Communications
  • David Honig, Minority Media and Telecommunications Council
  • Rodney Hood, National Credit Union Administration
  • Ronald Johnson, Ronson Network Services
  • Debra Lee, BET Holdings Inc.
  • Jane Mago, National Association of Broadcasters
  • Robert Mendez, ABC Television Network
  • Marc H. Morial, National Urban League
  • Karen K. Narasaki, Asian American Justice Center
  • Melissa Newman, Qwest
  • Jake Oliver, Afro-American Newspapers
  • Susan K. Patrick, Patrick Communications
  • Lisa Pickrum, The RLJ Companies
  • Rey Ramsey, One Economy Corporation
  • Michael V. Roberts, Roberts Broadcasting Companies LLC
  • Andrew Schwartzman, Media Access Project
  • Anita Stephens Graham, Opportunity Capital Partners
  • Diane Sutter, Shooting Star Broadcasting
  • Charles Warfield, Inner City Broadcasting
  • James Winston, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters