Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


AES Introduces Torick Scholarship

Grantees for 2011 educational awards named

During Emil Torick’s life the Audio Engineering Society bestowed many honors on him. Now its educational foundation has created a new scholarship in his name.

Torick passed away in 2010. He is beloved in AES circles, having been awarded a Fellowship (1969), a Bronze Medal (1984) and Distinguished Service Medal (2009); he also was named an Honorary Member. He was president of AES in 1977–78 and for 25 years was president of the AES Educational Foundation.

He was perhaps best known as developer of the Audimax and Volumax broadcast processors for CBS Labs. He developed other processors and was a professional classical musician.

The recipient of the first Emil Torick Scholar Award is Maurício José Gargel. He will continue his studies for a Masters of Fine Arts in Recording Arts at Middle Tennessee State.

AES announced winners of its 2011 AES Educational Grants for Graduate Studies in Audio Engineering.

David Benson was named the John Eargle Scholar. Recipients of AES grants are Christos Manolos (University of York); Ivana Andjelkovic (University of California, Santa Barbara); Aglaia Foteinou (University of York); Sarah Gibble New York University); Hannah Robertson (McGill University); Jeanne Montalvo (New York University) and Scott Levine (McGill University).