Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Alabama Annual Conference to Honor Broadcasters

Annual conference inducts three in HOF and recognizes Citizen of the Year

David Baughn

Alabama Broadcasters Association has announced the Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

Leading the way is David Baughn. Tuscaloosa’s Baughn recently retired from his broadcast engineering role at the University of Alabama where he ran the engineering and IT department for the radio and television facilities.

Ann Collister of Montgomery is also included in the inductions. Collister has had a long career in radio station sales and management. She is currently managing WVRV(FM).

The third inductee is Stanley T. Siegal, who will be inducted posthumously. Siegal worked at both radio and television stations, including some time behind the GM’s desk. He also provided play-by-play commentary for University of Alabama baseball and football. Later, he announced UA baseball and basketball games for the ACN Sports Network.

The ABA Citizen of the Year award goes to Jimmy Rane, also known as “The Yella Fella.” Rane is president and CEO of the Great Southern Wood Preserving Co. He is being recognized for his philanthropic endeavors in his local community of Abbeville and across the state. Rane will be recognized at a luncheon August 16 at the Wynfrey Hotel/Hyatt Regency.

In addition, the ABA will name its Broadcaster of the Year at a luncheon Aug. 15, at the Wynfrey Hotel/Hyatt Regency. That luncheon will feature the ABA Hall of Fame inductions.

The ABA’s upcoming annual conference is Aug. 15–16, in Birmingham, Ala.