Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


APRE Opens Nominations for Engineering Achievement Award

2017 winner will be recognized at the Public Radio Engineering Conference in Las Vegas

Do you know an outstanding public radio engineer?

The Association of Public Radio Engineers is seeking nominations for its annual Engineering Achievement Award. The winner will be recognized Public Radio Engineering Conference in Las Vegas this April.

The award goes to individuals who have made “outstanding contributions to the art and/or science of radio engineering that has made a significant impact on, or improvement in, the state of the public radio industry,” according to the announcement.

The submission form is available for download and must be emailed to [email protected] by March 17.

The 2016 recipient was Ralph Hogan, past founding president of APRE.

Other past honorees include:
-Ralph Woods, retired NPR
-Bud Aiello, NPR and Gray Frierson Haertig
-Michael LeClair, chief engineer, WBUR(FM), Boston
-Mike Starling, former Vice President, Technology Research Center and NPR Labs
-Roger Karwoski, Assistant Manager and Director of Engineering, KBIA, Columbia, Mo.
-Donald Creighton, VP of Technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media.
-Richard Cassidy, Director of IT and New Media, WAMU(FM), Washington
-The late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR’s 30 Original Employees
-Chuck Leavens, Director of Engineering and IT management, WDUQ(FM), Pittsburgh
-Marty Bloss, former Director of Technology, NPR
-Don Danko, Vice President for Engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio
-John Kean of NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution’s Technology Research Center
-The late Jim McEachern, NPR
-Mike Pappas, KUVO(FM), Denver
-Doug Vernier, V-Soft Communications