Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Beasley Names Charlie McCoy Engineer of the Year

Annual Company Operating Awards recognize the best in the biz

Charlie McCoy

Beasley Broadcast recently honored its Augusta, Ga.-based Chief Engineer Charlie McCoy at its annual Company Operating Awards in Naples, Fla.

“Each year, as we honor our company’s highest achievers, I’m reminded of the quality of professionalism within Beasley Broadcast Group,” Founder, Chairman and CEO George G. Beasley said.

Engineer of the Year McCoy, who oversees radio studios for seven FMs and three AMs, transmitter sites, and IT responsibilities, was credited with going above and beyond the call of duty.

“A couple of months ago, Augusta’s main studio facility was struck by lightning on two separate occasions — within a two-week period — both times taking all 10 radio stations and their streams off the air. An engineer’s nightmare!” said Vice President and Chief Technology Officer Mike Cooney. “Charlie worked diligently in the immediate aftermath of both strikes bringing all stations back on-air and online in an incredibly short amount of time. Additionally, he spent every weekend at the studios replacing phone systems, consoles, routers, etc.”

Left to right: Beasley Broadcast President Bruce Beasley; EVP Brian Beasley; EVP Sam Floyd; Chairman & CEO George Beasley; EVP/CFO Caroline Beasley

Click on the Image to Enlarge

WXTU(FM) in Philadelphia was selected as Radio Station of the Year based on overall ratings and revenue, as well as community service. Additionally, the station and its morning show team of Doc, Andie and Crockett are 2013 finalists in the Country Music Association Annual Awards for the categories of Radio Station of the Year, Major Market and Broadcast Personality of the Year, Major Market.

Vice President and Market Manager Tom Humm was named General Manager of the Year for the second time. A Las Vegas native, Humm joined Beasley Broadcast in 2008 and has helped to build the cluster that includes KCYE(FM), KDWN(AM), KKLZ(FM), KOAS(FM) and KVGS(FM).

“From a radio perspective, Las Vegas remains a down market; however, under Tom’s strong leadership, Beasley’s five stations continue to outperform the market,” said Executive Vice President of Operations Brian Beasley, who oversees the Las Vegas cluster. 

Beasley’s 2013 Business Manager of the Year is the Fayetteville, N.C. cluster’s Robin Wood. In her role as the market’s business manager, Wood handles financial reporting, accounts receivable and payable management, payroll and also human resources responsibilities for six stations and over 65 employees.

Matt Smith has been named the Sales Manager of the Year for 2013, earning the honor for the second time. Smith has been director of sales for Philadelphia’s WXTU and WRDW(FM) for four years.

The Program Director of the Year recognizes the person tasked with providing creative and compelling content, branding a station both on-the-air and digitally, overseeing and supporting the on-air personalities, encouraging community service and achieving strong ratings, a release said. Shelly Easton, program director of WXTU in Philadelphia, has earned this honor for the second straight year.

This year, George G. Beasley also acknowledged Fayetteville, N.C.-based Executive Vice President Sam Floyd with the CEO Award of Excellence. The award recognizes a company official whom Beasley believes exemplifies a history of quality service and sincere dedication to the company.

“As our company grew, so did Sam’s responsibilities,” said Beasley. “Over the years, he has served in a variety of management capacities and has overseen the planning and construction of numerous broadcast towers and studios. Without hesitation, Sam accomplishes whatever is asked of him, no matter the location or scope of the project.”