Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Charles Warfield Is New NAB Joint Board Chair

Lincoln Financial Media CEO Don Benson was reelected NAB Radio Board Chair at summer meeting

Charles Warfield

During NAB’s summer board meeting this week, members elected YMF Media President/COO Charles Warfield as the new Joint Board chairman. He succeeds Meredith Local Media Group President Paul Karpowicz.

Lincoln Financial Media CEO Don Benson was reelected Radio Board chair and Emmis SVP and St. Louis market manager John Beck was reelected vice chair. Univision Radio President Jose Valle was reelected Radio Board second vice chair and CBS Radio President/CEO Dan Mason was reelected as the major group representative.

Beasley Broadcast Group EVP/CFO Caroline Beasley and Commonwealth Broadcasting Corp. President/CEO Steve Newberry are leaving the board.

NAB EVP Legal & Regulatory Affairs Jane Mago commended FCC Commissioner Ajit Pai’s public support for AM radio revitalization and outlined possible short and long-term initiatives being considered for AM radio. Bryan Broadcasting Corp. VP/GM Ben Downs detailed initiatives, solutions and challenges related to the senior band. NAB CTO Kevin Gage discussed NAB Labs activities related to AM all-digital testing, according to an outline provided by the trade group.

Regarding the performance royalty issue, NAB EVP Government Relations Kelly Cole highlighted growing support for an anti-performance royalty fee resolution supported by the trade lobby and President/CEO Gordon Smith pointed out that privately negotiated agreements between record labels and radio groups demonstrate lack of need for legislation on the issue.