Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Copps Sworn In As FCC Commissioner

Copps Sworn In As FCC Commissioner

The second new FCC commissioner is now official. Michael J. Copps was sworn in today as a member of the FCC for a term that runs until June 30, 2005. Kathleen Abernathy was previously sworn-in.
Copps served until January as Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Trade Development at the U.S. Department of Commerce, where he was previously Deputy Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Basic Industries. Copps came to Washington in 1970, joining the staff of Senator Ernest Hollings, D-S.C., ranking Democrat and soon-to-be-chairman of the Senate Commerce Committee. Copps served for more than 12 years as Hollings’
chief of staff.
“I am enormously excited at the opportunity to serve as an FCC Commissioner,” stated Copps. “To be an active participant in the deliberations of the FCC as the telecommunications revolution transforms our lives and remakes our world is a real privilege.”