Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Country Music Radio Winners Announced

Academy of Country Music picks winners for ACM telecast

Though they won’t get to bask on-stage in the television lights with the big stars, the radio broadcast winners announced by the Academy of Country Music are no less important than the big stars.

The awards will be presented at a private reception the day before the telecast of the 47th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards. Some winners will be invited to “participate” in the telecast according to a release.

With no further adieu, the winners are:

On-Air Personalities of the Year
National: Lon Helton, CMT Country Countdown USA
Major Market: Kelly Ford and Rider, KYGO(FM), Denver
Large Market: Big Dave and Chelsie, WUBE(FM), Cincinnati
Medium Market (tie): Steve and Geoff in the Morning, KUZZ(AM/FM), Bakersfield, Calif.
Medium Market: Roger, Tom and Melissa, WPCV(FM), Lakeland, Fla.
Small Market: Bill Barrett, Tim Fox and Tracy Berry, KKNU(FM), Eugene, Ore.

Radio Station of the Year
Major Market: WQYK(FM), Tampa-St. Petersburg, Fla.
Large Market: WQDR(FM), Raleigh, N.C.
Medium Market: KATM(FM), Stockton, Calif.
Small Market: WUSY(FM), Chattanooga, Tenn.

Helton is a two-time winner.

The 47th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards show will be broadcast from the MGM Grand in Las Vegas on April 1.