Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Event Will Honor ‘Giants of Broadcasting’

Event Will Honor 'Giants of Broadcasting'

Todd Storz, James Cox, Ed McLaughlin, Don McNeill and three John Gamblings are among the radio names on the list of broadcast pioneers to be honored by a September event.
The Library of American Broadcasting will salute 17 honorees (20 if you count the Gamblings separately) at its second annual “Giants of Broadcasting” luncheon on Sept. 15 in New York.
Charles Osgood will host.
The LAB plans a tribute to the late President Ronald Reagan, who began his career as a radio sports broadcaster.
The library resides at the University of Maryland in College Park and describes itself as the national resource on broadcast pioneers.
Tickets for the event are $500. Info: (212) 685-4233.

The list of honorees:

Roone Arledge (former president, ABC News and president, ABC Sports);

Ralph Baruch (founder, Viacom International)

James Cox (founder, Cox Enterprises)

Fred W. Friendly (broadcast journalist and former president of CBS News)

The Gamblings (John B., John A. and John R. of “Rambling with Gambling”)

Merv Griffin (Merv Griffin Productions; TV producer, host and creator of popular game shows, including “Jeopardy” and “Wheel of Fortune”)

Don Hewitt (executive producer, CBS News and former executive producer, “60 Minutes”)

Shari Lewis (puppeteer and children’s television innovator)

Ed McLaughlin (former president, ABC Radio Networks; radio programming pioneer)

Don McNeill (“The Breakfast Club,” 1933-68)

Jack Paar (host of “The Tonight Show”)

Tony Randall (TV and radio actor best known as Felix Unger of “The Odd Couple”)

Todd Storz (“father of top 40 radio programming”)

Pierre “Pepe” Sutton (chairman/CEO, Inner City Broadcasting Corp.)

Danny Thomas (entertainer: “The Danny Thomas Show” aka “Make Room For Daddy,” producer of “The Dick Van Dyke Show” and “The Andy Griffith Show”)

Marlo Thomas (actress, “That Girl,” producer of “Free To Be You and Me”)

Mike Wallace (co-editor, “60 Minutes” and CBS News correspondent)