Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Georgia Radio Hall of Fame Inducts 17

Ernie Harwell and James Brown top list

The Georgia Radio Hall of Fame inducted 17 living and past broadcasters in its fifth annual induction ceremonies on Saturday, Oct. 15. Sirius satellite radio host Jay Thomas led the ceremonies.

Living inductees in the Career Achievement category were: Harley Drew, WGAC(AM/FM), Augusta, Ga.; Steve Holman, broadcaster, Atlanta Hawks; Dan Mason, former President Group W Radio, CBS Radio; Moby (James Carney), Moby In The Morning Network, Alpharetta, Ga.; Randy & Spiff (Randy Cook and Spiff Carner), show hosts, Atlanta; Richard Warner, What’s Up Interactive; Burl Womack, engineer, announcer, show host, Savannah, Ga. and John Young, John Young Productions. Most of the inductees have spent time at more than one station, often in more than one position.

Winner of the 2011 Founders and Directors Award was Jim Wesley, former Cox executive vice president, president and CEO of Summit Broadcasting and cofounder and president of Patterson Broadcasting.

Leading the eight Legacy inductees were sportscaster Ernie Harwell, WSB(AM), Atlanta, and long-time Atlanta Falcons radio broadcaster Jack Hurst, along with music legend and WRDW(AM) owner James Brown. They were joined by Pepper Martin, sportscaster, WFOM(AM), Marietta, Ga.; Bill McCain, general manager, WGKA(AM), Atlanta; Ed Mullinax, owner, WLAG(AM), La Grange, Ga. and Ben Porter, owner, Piedmont Communications, Macon, Ga.