Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Independent Spanish Broadcasters Organize

Independent Spanish Broadcasters Organize

The new Independent Spanish Broadcasters Association has elected its first board of directors and officers. Members made their choices at the association’s organizational meeting held during NAB2004.
Independent Spanish language networks, broadcast companies, financial institutions, and other service providers to the Spanish media industry formed ISBA. The association is open to all TV and radio broadcasting and media companies addressing the growing Hispanic market in the United States, regardless of ownership. However, the primary membership focus is independently owned, non-publicly traded, Spanish language broadcasting companies.
In his welcoming remarks, FCC Commissioner Jonathan Adelstein congratulated the members for their efforts in forming the association and stated that the creation of an organization such as ISBA was long overdue.
Newly-elected ISBA President, Amador Bustos, said “Our first constitutional meeting was a great success. The attendance and the enthusiasm exceeded out greatest expectations. We had independent Spanish-language media groups from across the country, and virtually all commented on what a great idea this was.”
The following board members were elected:
– Amador Bustos of Bustos Media in Sacramento, Calif.
– Rosamaria Caballero of Caballero Television in Miami
– Ronald Gordon of ZGS Broadcasting in Arlington, Va.
– Tony Hernandez of Latin Entertainment Network in Tampa, Fla.
– Zenon Ferrufino of Latino Broadcasting in Denver
– Alfredo Plascencia of Lazer Broadcasting in Oxnard, Calif.
– Jose Luis Muñoz of BMP Radio in Houston
-Abel de Luna of Moon Broadcasting in Los Angeles
– Francisco Montero of Fletcher Heald & Hildreth in Arlington, Va.
Additionally, the Board elected the following officers of ISBA: Amador Bustos as president; Ronald Gordon as Vice President; Rosamaria Caballero as secretary and Tony Hernandez as treasurer.
The board also established four new working committees, which include Public Affairs and Advocacy (Francisco Montero, chair); Access to Capital (Jose Luis Muñoz, chair); Advertising, Ratings and Promotions (Tony Hernandez, chair) and Membership and Administration (Zenon Ferrufino, chair). These committees will spearhead the Association’s outreach and advocacy initiatives in the coming year.
The next meeting is this fall.
For further information about ISBA, go to