Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Jobie Sprinkle Is New APRE President

Public radio engineering group elects new officers, also honors founders

The Association of Public Radio Engineers has elected a new slate of officers. The all-volunteer nonprofit organization launched in 2008 as an educational member organization for noncommercial radio engineers and other technical personnel.

Jobie Sprinkle, director of engineering/IT, WFAE(FM), Charlotte, N.C., is now president of APRE, moving up from vice president. Paxton Durham, one of the eight founding board members, becomes immediate past president and remains on the executive committee.

David Antoine, chief engineer, WBGO(FM), Newark, N.J., is now vice president; Shane Toven remains treasurer. Toven is former director of engineering for Wyoming Public Media, now technology advisor. He is the new editor of Radio magazine.

Dan Houg, chief engineer, KAXE(FM), Grand Rapids, Minn., becomes secretary of APRE.

Joining the board for three-year terms are Vermont Public Radio Director of Operations Victoria St. John and NPR Labs Technical Researcher Alice Goldfarb.

They join other board members: Robert Carroll, chief engineer, WWNO(FM), New Orleans; Jonathan Clark, sales manager, Shively Labs; Dan Mansergh, director of radio engineering and media technology, KQED(FM), San Francisco; and Bruce Wahl, senior solutions architect, NPR Distribution.

The new executive committee members were elected at last week’s board meeting, according to Sprinkle.

The APRE also honored eight founding board members at its recent Public Radio Engineering Convention in Las Vegas. Board service is limited to two three-year terms and all eight have rotated off the board.

The eight engineers were recognized with founding APRE board member emeritus plaques: Jan Andrews, former senior engineer, NPR Labs; Gordon Carter, former chief engineer of WFMT(FM), Chicago; Paxton Durham, chief engineer for WVTF(FM), Roanoke, Va.; Ralph Hogan, director of engineering for KJZZ(FM), Tempe, Ariz., who was APRE’s founding president; Roger Karwoski, former assistant manager and director of engineering for KBIA(FM), Columbia, Mo.; John Holt, chief engineer, WAMU(FM), Washington; Rich Parker, former director of engineering for Vermont Public Radio and now with Coast Alaska; and Doug Vernier, president and owner of V-Soft Communications.

Those not in attendance will receive their plaques via mail.