Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


LAB Names Giants of Broadcasting Honorees

Jerry Lee, Cokie Roberts and Jim Quello are among them.

The Sixth Annual Giants of Broadcasting Ceremony and Luncheon, sponsored by the Library of American Broadcasting at the University of Maryland, will take place in New York’s Grand Hyatt Hotel on Sept. 25.

Charles Osgood of CBS Radio and “CBS Sunday Morning” will be master of ceremonies for the fifth year.

The honorees are Robert C. Wright, former NBC head and co-creator of MSNBC; actor William Shatner; Philadelphia broadcaster Jerry Lee; journalist Cokie Roberts; former FCC Commissioner James H. Quello; Bill Baker, former chairman of Group W Satellite Communications, which launched Discovery Channel and the Disney Channel; and television producer Lucy Jarvis.

NBC’s “Meet the Press” host Tim Russert, sportscaster Jim McKay and CEO of CBS Enterprises, Roger M. King, will be honored with posthumous awards.