Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


LAB to Recognize Giants of Broadcasting

Library of American Broadcasting honors Jeff Smulyan with annual award

The national Library of American Broadcasting will present its 11th Annual Giants of Broadcasting Honors at a ceremony and luncheon to be held Oct. 16 at Gotham Hall in New York.

The event celebrates distinguished leadership or performance in television and radio. This year, LAB will honor 11 people for excellence in the electronic communications arts, including Jeff Smulyan, founder, CEO and president of Emmis Communications.

Also joining this year’s class are Anne Sweeney, Alex Trebek, Barry Diller, Dick Cavett, Robert L. Johnson, Morley Safer, Richard Leibner, David E. Kelley and Carole Cooper.

The Library of American Broadcasting is chaired by Virginia Hubbard Morris, president of Hubbard Radio, based in Minneapolis-St. Paul; the President/CEO is Donald West, broadcast journalist and former assistant to the president of CBS Inc.; the Dean of libraries at the University of Maryland is Patricia Steele and the curator is Chuck Howell.