Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Lamar Smith Joins PEPAC Board

Will also be board secretary for emergency messaging organization

Lamar Smith, chief engineer for Beasley’s KDWN(AM) in Las Vegas, has been elected to the Primary Entry Point Advisory Committee board of directors. He’ll also serve as the board’s secretary.

PEPAC is broadcast industry organization consisting of “primary entry point” stations for distributing EAS messaging across the nation. Approximately 80 stations are involved with at least one being in every state or territory. It works with FEMA, according to its website.

A release explains PEPAC’s mission: “PEPAC’s mission is to develop and maintain an industry working group of PEP station representatives, working in conjunction with FEMA and the FCC, to organize, conduct and direct meetings and training sessions for PEP stations and other participating EAS stations.”

The current PEPAC board consists of: President Mark Manuelian, WBZ(AM), Boston; Vice President Larry Fuss, KKHJ(FM), Pago Pago, American Samoa; Treasurer Jason Cooper, WSM(AM), Nashville, Tenn.; Paul Jewusiak, KFQD(AM), Anchorage, Alaska; Dave Szucs, WTAM(AM), Cleveland; Kerry Plackmeyer of WBAL(AM), Baltimore; Dale Kolesar, WFED(AM), Washington; Martin Stabbert of KKOH(AM), Reno, Nev. and Scott Mason, KFWB(AM), Los Angeles.