Library of American Broadcasting Elects Four to Board of Directors

All will serve three-year terms
Publish date:

Heather Birks, Ruth Gaviria, Harry A. Jessell and Walter “Wally” Podrazik were all unanimously elected to be added to the Library of American Broadcasting Board of Directors through a Dec. 19 conference call.

Image placeholder title

Heather Birks

The Library of American Broadcasting’s mission is to preserve the rich history of broadcasting. The Library is located on the campus of University of Maryland in College Park, Md.

Birks has been the executive director of the Broadcast Education Association since 2006. Gaviria is the chief marketing officer at Entercom Communications. Jessell is editor and co-publisher for TVNewsCheck. Podrazik is an adjunct lecturer at the University of Illinois at Chicago and television curator at the Museum of Broadcast Communications.

All four of the new members have been elected to serve three-year terms.


MBC Board Elects Four to Two-Year Terms

Elected to two-year terms were Jay Blunk, senior vice president of business operations for the Chicago Blackhawks; Michael Davies, co-owner, president and chief executive officer of AlphaZeta Inc.; Richard Fleming, executive vice president and chief financial offer at USG Corp.; and Tom Pence, national sales manager, curriculum division of Carolina Biological Supply.