Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Littlejohn, Seidel Are NAB Engineering Award Winners

Will be honored at the NAB Show Technology Luncheon

Jeff Littlejohn

Jeff Littlejohn of Clear Channel Media & Entertainment and Robert Seidel of CBS are this year’s honorees for NAB’s Engineering Achievement Awards.

Each year, NAB recognizes the work of what the group considers to be two exceptional broadcast engineers — one radio and one in television. First established in 1959, the Engineering Achievement Awards are given to individuals who are nominated by their peers for significant contributions to advancing the state of the art in broadcast engineering.

As executive vice president, Engineering and Systems Integration at Clear Channel, Jeff Littlejohn oversees technical aspects of the company’s Media & Entertainment division. In his 20+ years in radio engineering, he has been a leader in technical improvements for broadcast radio and active on many industry committees, according to NAB.

Littlejohn has led projects such the Total Traffic + Weather Network, and Clear Channel’s Engineering Coop as well as Market Engineering Management Development program; the latter trains new radio engineers and enhances the skills of existing engineers to help meet the ever-growing technology support requirements of radio stations. Littlejohn is vice chair of the NAB Labs Radio Technology Committee and also currently chairs the NAB Broadcast Engineering Conference Committee.

Robert Seidel

Radio World honored Littlejohn in 2008 with its Excellence in Engineering Award. 

The television award nominee is Robert Seidel, vice president, Engineering and Advanced Technology, for CBS. He began his career with CBS in 1976.

Seidel has been an industry leader in the development of HDTV, the transition to digital television, and many other projects, including pioneering work in portable satellite uplink systems used in newsgathering, for which he received a Technical Emmy award. He holds leadership positions for SMPTE and ATSC, chairs the Engineering Achievement Committee for the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, and has presented numerous technical papers at industry conferences, including the NAB Show. Seidel is a member of several NAB technical committees, including the NAB Labs TV Technology Committee.

Littlejohn and Seidel will be honored at the NAB Show Technology Luncheon on April 9, in Las Vegas.