Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Local Radio Freedom Act Reintroduced

Resolution has 71 additional original co-sponsors

Texas Representatives Gene Green, a Democrat, and K. Michael Conaway, a Republican, reintroduced the Local Radio Freedom Act.

If passed, the nonbinding resolution would oppose any new fees, taxes or royalties for music played on local radio stations.

The measure is aimed at blocking attempts to create a performance royalty for radio; no such measure has been introduced yet in this new session of Congress.

Rep. Green said the measure is meant to preserve “free over-the-air broadcast. We can’t introduce a new system of fees that will cut people’s access to public safety information, news, weather, or entertainment.”

The resolution, H. Con. Res. 16, has 71 additional original co-sponsors and has been referred to the House Judiciary Committee.