Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Marconi Firsts: Soleto, WEEI Among the Big Winners

Marconi Firsts: Soleto, WEEI Among the Big Winners

This was the first year that the NAB honored a Spanish format personality of the year in its Marconi Awards. The winner: Eddie “Piolin” Sotelo of KSCA(FM) in Los Angeles.
It also was a good night for his radio station, which was named Spanish station of the year.
Another happy staff can be found at WEEI(AM) in Boston, which took home the first Marconi ever given to the sports station of the year and was also named large-market station of the year.
Another winner of two awards is KGO(AM) in San Francisco, the major-market station of the year as well as the news/talk winner.
WBEB(FM) in Philadelphia was named legendary station of the year. Bob & Tom of Premiere won for network syndicated personality.
Other station of the year Marconis, which are given in various market sizes, went to WIVK(FM) in Knoxville, Tenn., and KGMI(AM) in Bellingham, Wash.
Personalities of the year are Scott Slade of WSB(AM) in Atlanta; Tom Barnard of KQRS(FM) in Minneapolis; Brent Johnson of WTCB(FM) in Columbia, S.C.; and Lacy Neff of WVAQ(FM) in Morgantown, W.Va.
Format winners were KOIT(FM) San Francisco for AC; WSTW(FM) in Wilmington, Del., for CHR; KYGO(FM) in Denver for country; WMJI(FM) in Cleveland for oldies; KJIL(FM) in Meade, Kan., for religion; WEBN(FM) in Cincinnati for rock; and WGCI(FM) in Chicago for urban.