Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


MMTC Recognizes Service

Annual conference highlights efforts to promote industry diversity

The Minority Media and Telecom Council will hold its 11th annual Access to Capital and Telecom Policy Conference, July 9–10 in Washington. At the conference MMTC will honor the recipients of the Distinguished Pro Bono Service Awards and the Extraordinary Service Award at the event.

The Pro Bono Service Award is given to a law or engineering firm that donates services to the cause of diversity and inclusion for the media and telecom industries.

The law firm of Akin Gump will be recognized with the 2013 Distinguished Pro Bono Service Awards for helping the MMTC file an amici curiae brief with a former FCC general counsel in support of the constitutionality of Fisher v. University of Texas.

The signers of MMTC’s Supreme Court Amici Curiae Brief are named as the winners of the Extraordinary Service Award. They are: Former FCC Commissioner Andrew C. Barrett, former FCC Commissioner Tyrone Brown, former FCC Acting Chair and Commissioner Michael Copps, former FCC Chair Reed Hundt, former FCC Commissioner Nicholas Johnson, former FCC Commissioner Gloria Tristani and former FCC General Counsel Chris Wright.

Additionally Davis Wright Tremaine has been named the 2013 Distinguished Pro Bono Service Awardee for his support of MMTC. The award will be presented by member of the New Telecom and Internet Taskforce Wes Heppler.