Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NAB: Local Radio Freedom Act Builds Steam

Anti-performance rights resolution picks ups more support in House, Senate

Two more Senators and some two dozen Members of the House have signed the Local Radio Freedom Act, according to NAB.

The document is a resolution opposing any new performance rights fees on radio stations for music airplay.

Four Senators and 105 House lawmakers now support the nonbinding resolution, according to the broadcast lobby.

Texas Reps. Michael Conaway, a Republican, and Gene Green, a Democrat, introduced the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House in February along with 71 additional co-sponsors. Wyoming Republican John Barrasso and North Dakota Democrat Heidi Heitkamp introduced a companion resolution in the Senate earlier this month.

To be clear, no performance rights bill has been introduced in this session of Congress; the introduction of the resolution is a pre-emptive move.