NABEF and BEA Name PSA Contest Winners

Student competition highlights importance of free speech
Publish date:

The NAB Education Foundation and the Broadcast Education Association have announced the winners of the Freedom of Speech Public Service Announcement Contest for college communications students.

In order to compete, students submitted 30-second spots that addressed the prompt, “What freedom of speech means to me.”

The winning entries are:

First Place: Taylor Mefford, Texas A&M University–Commerce, Commerce, Texas — “Voice Your Freedom”
Second Place: Javier Duarte, Palm Beach State College, Lake Worth, Fla. — “What Is Freedom of Speech?”

First Place: Alex Fenderson, Husson University, Bangor, Maine — “Freedom of Expression”
Second Place: Leah Backstrom, Minnesota State University–Moorhead, Moorhead, Minn. — “My Voice”

The winners will be recognized during an event held during Free Speech Week, Oct. 19–25.

Winning PSAs may be viewed and downloaded online. Stations are also encouraged to run the spots during Free Speech Week.


Burk Names Contest Winner

The manufacturer had invited broadcasters to use built-in design tools to create a custom user interface for Burk’s Lynx 5, AutoPilot 3 and AutoPilot Plus remote monitoring control software.