Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NABEF Announces Service to America Winners

Radio winners to be honored June 17 in Washington

The National Association of Broadcasters Educational Foundation has announced the winners of the 2014 Celebration of Service Awards.

The radio winner for the Service to Children Award was Lenawee Broadcasting’s WLEN(FM) of Adrian, Mich. A release noted WLEN’s “Community initiatives include: middle and high school job-shadowing/internships at the station, scholarships, the airing of radio spots created by local students, an antibullying PSA contest, children’s involvement in WLEN-FM’s ‘Thank a Vet’ initiative, homeless education program, Athlete of the Week, Phone Calls to Santa and much more.”

Runner-ups were Emmis’ KFTK(FM), St. Louis and Howard University’s WHUR(FM), in Washington.

The Service to Community winner was KSTP(FM) in St. Paul, Minn., a Hubbard Radio property. NABEF cited the station’s involvement in the establishment of the Zach Sobiech Osteosarcoma Fund, a cancer research fund. It has collected $750,000 so far.

Category finalists were: KNAI(FM), Phoenix, part of the Radio Campesina Network; KZST(FM), Santa Rosa, Calif., Redwood Empire Stereocasters; SummitMedia’s WJMZ(FM), Greenville, S.C.; and WSOY(AM) Decatur, Ill., Neuhoff Communications.

Major supporters of the NABEF Service to America Awards include Hubbard Broadcasting and Bonneville International Corp. The awards will be presented June 17, in Washington. Further information can be found here.