Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NABEF Hosts 14th Celebration of Service to America Awards

“Record-number” of congress members expected to attend

Deborah Norville, host of syndicated newsmagazine “Inside Edition,” will serve as master of ceremonies at the NAB Education Foundation’s 14th annual Celebration of Service to America Awards. The gala recognizes broadcasters for outstanding service to their local communities and will be held this Monday, June 3, at 6 p.m. at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington.

The event will include the presentation of the Service to America Award to musician Stevie Wonder, as well as Oleta Williams’ tribute to the star.

 Like other Washington events, the awards will be attended by many government officials and legislators. Those planning to join the gathering include acting FCC Chairwoman Mignon Clyburn, FCC Commissioners Ajit Pai and Jessica Rosenworcel, Sen. Richard Burr, Reps. Greg Walden, Jim Bridenstine, Kathy Castor, Eliot Engel, Jim Matheson, Chris Stewart, and Paul Tonko. NABEF reports that it expects “a record number” of Congressmen and women to be present, perhaps in part because of North Carolina legislators supporting North Carolina-based home improvement company Lowe’s, this year’s winner of the President’s Special Award.

The Celebration of Service to America Awards are sponsored and produced by NABEF with major support from Hubbard Broadcasting Inc., Bonneville International Corp. and the National Association of Broadcasters.