Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NABEF Reveals Service to America Award Winners

NABEF Reveals Service to America Award Winners

The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation has revealed the winners for its 6th annual Service to America Awards. Winners will be honored at the Service to America Celebration in Washington on June 14.
The celebration is part of the Service to America Summit and is an event that recognizes outstanding community service by local broadcasters.
“Day in and day out, local broadcasters all over America are serving the public with timely news, information and public interest programming,” said NAB President/CEO Eddie Fritts. “This year’s award winners have gone above and beyond the call of duty, and deserve special recognition for their outstanding service to community.”
Service to Children Award: Spotlights stations for outstanding programs, campaigns and public service announcements produced for the benefit of children.: KVAK(FM), Valdez, Alaska; Owner: Single-Owned
Partnership Award: Recognizes broadcasters and their corporate or community partners for exemplary public service.: WHUR(FM), Washington; Owner: Howard University; Partner: Family Crisis Center of Prince George’s County.
Friend in Need Award: Honors broadcasters for outstanding service in the face of natural disasters and other potentially life-threatening situations.: WRAR(FM), Tappahannock, Va.; Owner: Single-Owned.
Radio personality Tom Joyner will receive the Samaritan Award at this year’s Service to America Summit. The Samaritan Award is one of NABEF’s highest honors given to a broadcaster or organization exemplifying the industry’s commitment to use the airwaves effectively in promoting the public interest.
The NABEF will bestow the Leadership Award, to Nancy Brinker, founder of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation. The award recognizes an individual or organization, not necessarily involved in broadcasting, for exceptional leadership in community service.
The 2004 Crystal Radio Award winners, previously announced at NAB2004 in Las Vegas April 20, will be recognized as part of the 2004 Service to America Summit.