Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


National Radio Hall of Fame Announces Inductees

The 2016 National Radio Hall of Fame has announced the names of its 10 newest inductees, who will be recognized Nov. 17 at the Museum of Broadcast Communications in downtown Chicago from 6–9 p.m.

“This year’s class of inductees represents the diversity that makes radio so personal, entertaining and impactful,” said National Radio Hall of Fame Chairman Kraig T. Kitchin.

The inductees represent six categories and were chosen from a slate of 24 candidates. Four of those categories voted by a 400-person industry panel, while the remaining two, Music Format On-Air Personality and Spoken Word On-Air Personality, were chosen by listeners at large.

The 2016 inductees are:

  • Active Local/Regional Personality, 10+ years: Eric Ferguson and Kathy Hart, WTMX(FM)/The Mix, Chicago
  • Longstanding Local/Regional Personality, 20+ years: Jeff Detrow and Jerry Cesak, KYXY(FM), San Diego
  • Active Network/Syndication Personality, 10+ years: Steve Harvey, “The Steve Harvey Morning Show,” syndicated by Premiere Networks
  • Longstanding Network/Syndication Personality, 20+ years: Delilah, syndicated by Premiere Networks
  • Music Format On-Air Personality: Bob Kingsley, “Bob Kingsley’s Country Top 40,” syndicated by Westwood One
  • Spoken Word On-Air Personality: Michael Savage, “The Savage Nation,” syndicated by Westwood One

Additionally, the NRHoF nominating committee voted to induct four for their contributions to the industry. Those inductees are:

  • George G. Beasley, chairman/CEO/founder of Beasley Broadcast Group Inc.
  • Kidd Kraddick, the late nationally syndicated show host and founder of Kidd’s Kids Charity
  • Tony Roberts, former sportscaster and play-by-play announcer for Notre Dame football broadcasts
  • Neil Rogers, the late southern Florida air personality

Tickets to the black-tie optional ceremony are available online. A portion of the cost of tickets is a tax-deductible charitable donation to the museum.