Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


New Leaders Set for FCC Media, Enforcement, Wireline Bureaus

William Lake moves from DTV task force to Media chief

Now that Federal Communications Commission Chairman Julius Genachowski has filled his staff, he’s moving on to bureaus and offices. This week he announced new senior staff for the Media, Enforcement and Wireline Competition Bureaus.

William Lake is the new chief of the Media Bureau. He was head of the DTV task force and previously a partner at the Washington law firm of WilmerHale. He replaces Monica Desai, who went to the Washington office of Communication Service for the Deaf as chief of its Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau. She joined the FCC in 1999.

Robert Ratcliffe is now deputy chief of the Media Bureau; he has been serving as acting chief and previously was deputy chief of the Enforcement Bureau. Before that assignment, Ratcliffe spent more than 20 years in the Media Bureau and its predecessors.

At the agency for 12 years, Kris Monteith is now deputy chief of the Media Bureau; she was most recently chief of the Enforcement Bureau.

Suzanne Tetreault, now acting deputy chief of the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau, moves to the Enforcement Bureau as deputy chief. She’s worked at the FCC since 1991.

Sharon Gillett will come from outside the agency to lead the Wireline Competition Bureau. Gillett is director of the Massachusetts Broadband Institute and was previously head of the Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable. She comes to the FCC on Aug. 28.