Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NRB Names Award Winners

Awards to be give at upcoming NRB convention

The National Religious Broadcasters released a slate of award winners in preparation for its annual convention, to be held Feb. 18–21 in Nashville.

Leading the way are three recipients of the Milestone Award. This is given to media industry pioneers.

To be recognized in Nashville are Ron Mighell, the Mortenson Broadcasting Co. and Strong Tower Christian Media.

Mighell has been involved in radio and TV for decades. He built WTLW(TV) in Lima, Ohio and later WLMB(TV) in Toledo, Ohio. Mortenson Broadcasting can claim some 50 years of Christian radio broadcasting, starting with Dr. E.M. Mortenson. Strong Tower Christian Media can also point to five decades of radio broadcasting with WEEC(FM) in Springfield, Ohio and WFCJ(FM) in Dayton, Ohio.

Syndicated financial radio show host Dave Ramsey will be the recipient of the NRB Board of Directors Award. “The Dave Ramsey Show” is heard on approximately 500 radio stations.

Recipient of the William Ward Ayer Award, named for the NRB’s first president, is Peggy Campbell, president of the Ambassador Advertising Agency. The media and marketing agency has a long history of Christian ministry projects ranging from radio to missionary work, including the Amb-OS program distribution system.

The 2012 Billy Graham Award for Excellence in Christian Communications will go to the “Walk in the Word” radio program, helmed by Dr. James MacDonald and heard on 1,100 stations and via podcast.

Last, the NRB Hall of Fame Award is destined for Joni Eareckson Tada. Tada has been providing radio programming for about 30 years, with a focus on bringing the message to disabled worshippers.

All of the awards will be presented at the 21st Awards Dinner at the convention.