Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Dan Mason to Receive Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award

The former CBS exec will be honored during the NAB Show

Dan Mason, former chief executive officer of CBS Radio, is the recipient of the 2023 Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award. Presented by the Broadcasters Foundation of America, the annual award honors an individual in broadcasting whose work exemplifies innovation, community service, advocacy and entrepreneurship.

Dan Mason

Mason will be presented with the award at the nonprofit’s Broadcasters Foundation Breakfast on Apr. 19, which coincides with the NAB Show in Las Vegas.

According to the Broadcasters Foundation, Mason is known for “initiating an aggressive growth strategy at CBS Radio, including launching new formats, acquiring major market properties, and leading the way for the creation of CBS Sports Radio.” He also led the expansion of CBS Radio’s digital presence with audio streaming platforms and mobile applications, it said.

He also previously served as chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation.

The Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award salutes its namesake and is underwritten by The Mays Family Foundation. Past recipients include Gordon Smith, Ajit Pai, Bill Clark, Eddie Fritts, Cathy Hughes, Mel Karmazin and Jeff Smulyan, among others.

The Broadcasters Foundation Breakfast is complimentary to all in broadcasting, although registration is required. To register, visit the nonprofit’s website.

[For More News on the NAB Show See Our NAB Show News Page]