Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


MIW Will Honor Michelle Duke

She will receive the MIW Frances Preston Trailblazer Award

The group Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio has chosen Michelle Duke as the 2022 recipient of the MIW Frances Preston Trailblazer Award. 

Michelle Duke, recipient of the MIW Frances Preston Trailblazer Award

Duke is president of the NAB Leadership Foundation and the association’s chief diversity officer.

The award is named for the longtime president and CEO of BMI. It will be presented to Duke on Sunday of the NAB Show.

 “As president of the NAB Leadership Foundation, Michelle Duke oversees the team responsible for successful initiatives including The Media Sales Academy,  the Technology Apprenticeship Program and the Broadcast Leadership Training program, which she managed for 15 years,” MIW wrote in its announcement.

“During her tenure, the foundation’s annual fundraiser and gala, the Celebration of Service to America Awards, was developed into a television show that airs on local stations across the country.”

[Visit Radio World’s People News Page]

It said that as NAB’s chief diversity officer, Duke develops resources and fosters conversations to assist broadcast stations with developing their diversity strategies. “This includes the Diversity Symposium, which will be held at the NAB Show, and the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resource Center available on the NAB website.”

Prior honorees are Christine Travaglini (2019); Julie Talbott (2018); Mary Quass (2017); Beth Neuhoff (2016); Kim Guthrie (2015); Diane Sutter (2014); Weezie Kramer (2013); Caroline Beasley (2012); Ginny Hubbard Morris (2011); Lynn Anderson (2010); and Erica Farber (2009).