Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Radio Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

Industry panel will determine the 2023 inductees through confidential vote

Twenty-four broadcast legends have been nominated for the 2023 class of inductees to the Radio Hall of Fame.

The nominees are, in alphabetical order by first name: Bert Weiss, Bob Rivers, Charles Laquidara, Dyana Williams, Gerry House, Jaime Jarrin, John & Ken, John DeBella, Johnny Magic, Kevin Matthews, Kid Leo (Lawrence Travagliante), Larry Elder, Laurie DeYoung, Lee Harris, Rev. Louise Williams Bishop, Mark Simone, Mary McCoy, Matt Siegel, Mojo in the Morning, Monica May, Nina Totenberg, Pat St. John, Shadoe Stevens, and Shelley “The Playboy” Stewart.

From June 16–30, more than 800 industry members will vote on the nominees. The balloting will be overseen by CPA firm Miller Kaplan. The top-six vote getters will be inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame. Two additional inductees will be selected by the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee. The new class of honorees will be announced on July 24 and the induction ceremony will be held Nov. 2 at the InterContinental New York Barclay Hotel in New York City.

The nominees were selected by the Hall of Fame Nominating Committee from more than 2,500 suggestions from industry members and listeners, stated Kraig T. Kitchin, co-chair of the Radio Hall of Fame. “Each nominee is deserving of induction, and I look forward to the results of the forthcoming confidential voting results.”

Dennis Green, co-chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, added: “These talented individuals have accomplished so much and made our medium special then, now, and hopefully for years to come. The Radio Hall of Fame is honored to recognize these talented individuals as nominees for this year’s Radio Hall of Fame.”

The Radio Hall of Fame was founded by the Emerson Radio Corp. in 1988. The Museum of Broadcast Communications took over its operations in 1991.