Radio Not a Factor in This Year's Frick Award

Tony Kubek is the first 'exclusive television' analyst to win
Publish date:

Tony Kubek is the newest Ford C. Frick Award recipient.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum named the long-time baseball announcer to the honor. He worked for NBC "Game of the Week," the Toronto Blue Jays and New York Yankees for 30 years,.

The award is for major contributions to baseball broadcasting. He'll will be honored during Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies in July in Cooperstown.

Mel Allen was the first recipient in 1978; Dave Niehaus won last year.

"Kubek also becomes the first primarily television broadcaster to be honored since Bob Wolff in 1995 and the first Frick Award winner to have called games for a Canadian team," officials said in the announcement.


HD Radio at CES and Products You'll See Later This Year

I go to the CES show in person and see the new digital receivers first-hand, before broadcasters see them at the April NAB. I thought I'd share some of my impressions as well as comments from radio engineers and transmission manufacturer reps I ran into in the exhibit halls at the big show, which recently wrapped up.