Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Radio One Honors 2015 Hometown Champions

Radio One Inc. has announced the winners of its second annual Hometown Champions contest to honor unsung public servants and community activists nominated and chosen by their peers.

After receiving several hundred nominations and many votes following a national radio and digital campaign soliciting applications, Radio One announced 15 people who represent each of its major markets.

Recipients were each awarded $1,000, two tickets to the NAACP’s Image Award, as well as hotel accommodations and a meet-and-greet with gospel recording artist Erica Campbell.

The 2015 Radio One Hometown Champions are:

● Jasmine Robinson — Atlanta
● Brendon Lee — Baltimore
● Olivia Stinson — Charlotte, N.C.
● Patricia-Ann McCollum — Cincinnati
● Keisha Herbert — Cleveland
● Andreus Moben — Columbus, Ohio
● Cheryl Jackson — Dallas
● Lashone Wilson — Washington
● Pastor Arric Wilkerson — Detroit
● Sean Tucker — Indianapolis
● Malik Amari — Philadelphia
● Kason Cheeks — Raleigh, N.C.
● Carolos Vieira — Richmond, Va.
● Tracie Berry McGee — St. Louis

The winners’ community contributions spanned industries, from religious communities and law to probation and yoga. The honorees’ ages also ranged from 25 years old to 55+. The Hometown Champions have volunteered their homes to over 70 foster children, raised money for breast cancer and HIV/AIDs research and opened food pantries and created youth mentorship programs without payment.

“Radio One is the proud originator of the Hometown Champions contest because it embodies the entrepreneurial spirit and community engagement that mirrors how we were founded,” said Vice President Corporate Communications Yashima White AziLove. “Each winner identified a community need and met it without excuse. Their creativity and resilience are to be commended.”