Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Ralph Hogan Will Be Next SBE President

New board members take office Sept. 28

Members of the Society of Broadcast Engineers voted for Ralph Hogan as their new president; he had been vice-president and ran unopposed. Hogan is DOE for KJZZ(FM), KBAQ(FM) and SunSounds of Arizona in Tempe, Ariz.

Hogan and other officers begin one-year terms on Sept. 28. He said he looks forward to continuing efforts the SBE has made in certifying, educating and networking broadcast engineers.

Joe Snelson, vice president of engineering at Meredith Corp. in Las Vegas, was elected SBE vice president, while James Leifer, director of engineering & IT at Clear Channel South Florida in Miami, is the new secretary. Jerry Massey, corporate regional engineer and DOE at Entercom Communications in Greenville, S.C., has been elected treasurer.

Six members were elected to two-year terms on the SBE board; their terms also begin Sept. 28.

The six are Raymond Benedict, director of spectrum engineering at CBS, in Washington; Paul J. Burnham, field support manager at Communications e2v Inc. in Poughkeepsie, N.Y.; Mark Heller, chief technology officer, president/GM/chief engineer at WTRW Inc./WGBW Radio in Two Rivers, Wis.; Charles “Ched” Keiler, director of engineering at Reach Communications in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.; David Priester, director of the Ithaca College technical operations in Ithaca, N.Y.; and Gary Stigall, chief technology officer at TV Magic in San Diego, Calif.

Those elected will begin their terms during the SBE membership meeting in Columbus, Ohio. The SBE event is being held in conjunction with the Ohio Broadcast Engineering Conference and the Ohio Association of Broadcasters. The newly-elected board members will join the other six directors who have another year remaining in their terms, as well as immediate past president Vincent Lopez.