Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


RTDNA, NEFE Name 2013 Personal Finance Reporting Award Winners

Reporters from radio, online and TV honored for work

The Radio Television Digital News Association and the National Endowment for Financial Education have announced the winners of the 2013 RTDNA/NEFE Award for Personal Finance Reporting.

As part of the organizations’ efforts to encourage reporting on personal finance issues, three winners from radio, online and television news have been chosen for their work.

For radio, Uri Berliner, senior editor for National Public Radio, won for his series, “Dollar for Dollar.”

For television, Don Dare, 6 On Your Side Reporter for WATE(TV), Knoxville, Tenn., won for his series, “Debt Issues, Options and Answers.”

And for online series, Blake Ellis, personal finance reporter for, won for her series, “Financial Challenges Facing Same-Sex Couples.”

Since 1999, Berliner has been with NPR, where he has supervised and edited work on the financial crisis, auto industry, energy and the workplace, in addition to building Planet Money, a multimedia team that covers the global economy. He has been a Neiman Fellow at Harvard and won an Edward R. Murrow award in 2008 for reporting on the Beijing Olympics.

Dare has been reporting for more than 40 years and has been at WATE since 1996. He is a member of the NATAS Silver Circle and has won awards from organizations including the National Press Club, Society of Professional Journalists and the Edward R. Murrow Award for investigative reporting.

Ellis has been at CNNMoney in New York since 2009. Her same-sex marriage coverage earned her a first place Excellence in Online Journalism Award from the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association.

In addition to a $1,000 cash prize, each winner will co-present a training seminar at Excellence in Journalism 2013, which is the national convention of RTDNA, the SPJ and the National Association of Hispanic Journalists, which will be held August 24–26 in Anaheim, Calif. During “Excellence in Financial Reporting: How Award-Winning Journalists Get it Done,” the winners will explain down their submissions, including the reporting tools and best practices they used.