Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


RTDNA Recognizes Student Journalism

First winners of Student Edward R. Murrow Awards announced

The winners of the inaugural Student Edward R. Murrow Awards have been selected by the Radio Television Digital News Association. The winners were selected in three categories: audio, visual and digital.

“This is the first time we have offered award categories specifically designed for students to present their best work, and the entries were outstanding,” said RTDNA Chair Amy Tardif.

The winners are: Overall Excellence — Audio: Helena Battipaglia of Syracuse University for “Lime Shortage ‘Squeeze;’” Overall Excellence — Video: Erin Patrick O’Connor of Arizona State University for “Gun Wars;” and Overall Excellence — Digital: Carolina Wilson of Stanford University for “Tired of Being Bumped, Caltrain Bike Commuters Push for More Space.” The entries can be viewed online.

The students and their work will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on Oct. 12. The winners of this year’s national Edward R. Murrow Awards for professionals will be announced later this month. Purchase tickets to the event here.