Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SBE Announces 2015 Ennes Scholarship Recipients

Scholarships are awarded to those interested in continuing or beginning in broadcast engineering and tech education

John Pooley

Clifford White

The Ennes Educational Foundation Trust has awarded four scholarships for 2015.

The 2015 the Harold E. Ennes Scholarship recipient is John Pooley from Boston. Pooley is a student at Emerson College in Boston studying studio TV production with a focus on broadcast engineering. He says he would like to work as a news photographer/editor/engineer and has experience in news, live event and corporate video production.

Receiving the Robert Greenberg Scholarship is Clifford White from Tyler, Texas. During the summer of 2015, White worked as a broadcast engineer at Radio Esperanza in the Rio Grande Valley in south Texas. He currently does freelance radio broadcast engineering work while studying electrical engineering at LeTourneau University in Longview, Texas.

The John H. Battison Founder’s Scholarship has been awarded to Patrick Wright of Madison, Wis. Wright is enrolled at the Illinois Institute of Technology in Bronzeville, Ill., studying computer engineering. His broadcast engineering experience includes work for Newsweb Radio Corp. and WLS. He currently works part-time at WCPT(AM/FM) in the Chicago area.

Patrick Wright

Elaine Phillips

Elaine Phillips received the Youth Scholarship. She is a freshman at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and previously attended Harvard Extension School. Legally blind, she hopes to use technology to enrich lives, focusing on disabled people. She is interested in studying electrical engineering to make TV broadcasts more accessible to the blind.

“The Society of Broadcast Engineers, through the Ennes Educational Foundation Trust, is honored to reward these deserving candidates with the Ennes Scholarships to support their education in broadcast engineering,” said SBE President Joe Snelson, CPBE, 8-VSB.

The Harold E. Ennes Scholarship, Robert D. Greenberg Scholarship and John H. Battison Founder’s Scholarships are awarded to individuals interested in continuing or beginning their education in broadcast engineering and technology. The Youth Scholarship is specifically for a graduating high school senior interested in broadcast engineering as a career. Each scholarship awarded this year is for $1,500.