Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SBE Announces National Awards Winners

SBE Announces National Awards Winners

The Society of Broadcast Engineers (SBE) announced the winners of their National Awards for 1999. The winners will be recognized at the SBE National Awards Dinner held during the SBE National Meeting in Pittsburgh on Wednesday, Oct. 4.

SBE’s Broadcast Engineer of the Year is Clay Freinwald, senior facilities engineer for 11 Entercom stations in the Seattle market. He is active in SBE Chapter 16, Seattle, and writes a regular column for Waveguide, the Chapter 16 newsletter. He has served as a chairman of the Washington state EAS committee, the National SBE EAS committee and serves on the National SBE board of directors.

SBE’s Educator of the Year is Steven R. Keeler, associate professor of telecommunications and broadcasting at Cayuga Community College in Auburn, N.Y. He created and administers the SBE certified Telecommunications Technology Degree program.

SBE’s Technology Award goes to Videotek in Pottstown, Pa., for their SpyderWeb Unattended Network Monitoring System for centralized verification, monitoring and remote control of multiple nodes in any location by a single operator.

To see the list of winners, go to after August 21.
Paul Cogan